John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature:
“Dead End in Norvelt,” written by Jack Gantos, is the 2012 Newbery Medal winner. The book is published by Farrar Straus Giroux.
Two Newbery Honor Books also were named: “Inside Out & Back Again,” written by Thanhha Lai and published by HarperCollins Children’s Books, a division of HarperCollins Publishers; and “Breaking Stalin’s Nose,” written and illustrated by Eugene Yelchin, and published by Henry Holt and Company, LLC.

Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children:

“A Ball for Daisy,” illustrated and written by Chris Raschka, is the 2012 Caldecott Medal winner. The book is published by Schwartz & Wade Books, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books, a division of Random House, Inc.
Three Caldecott Honor Books also were named: “Blackout,” illustrated and written by John Rocco, and published by Disney · Hyperion Books, an imprint of Disney Book Group; “Grandpa Green” illustrated and written by Lane Smith, and published by Roaring Brook Press, a division of Holtzbrinck Publishing Holdings Limited Partnership; and “Me . . . Jane,” illustrated and written by Patrick McDonnell, and published by Little, Brown and Company, a division of Hachette Book Group, Inc.

The MLS Mock Caldecott Committee met in Worcester last week on January 18. After lively rich discussion, they made their decision.
The winner is “Me…Jane” by Patrick McDonnell, author and illustrator.
The sole honor book is “Swirl by Swirl”, illustrated by Beth Krommes and written by Joyce Sidman.

More awards announced here.